Message Board Thread - "hot connection - inverter output breaker"

Back to Threads | Back to Forums

TitleByPosted On
hot connection - inverter output breaker electricpete 9/28/2004
Thanks for all of your help on your previous question. Since I am brand new to infrared, I hope you will please be patient with all my questions.

I uploaded IR plus visual image side by side.

If visual image is too dark, it may be easier to see here:
http://reliability-magazine.com/pub/inv3.jpg

This is a 120 vac breaker on output of an inverter.

In lower left hand corner of the picture you see the top of a molded case breaker. It is a 2-pole breaker with right-angle metal busbars bolted on, and lugged cable bolted to the busbar.

1 - Cabinet ambient temperature is 24.6C
2 - The upper left connection (on top of bottom left breaker) is 24.6C
3 - The upper right connection (on top of bottom left breaker) is 44.2C.
(We checked sister unit and items 1 and 2 were identical).

The infrared shows green strip surrounded by two red bands. I believe the lower-temp green strip is caused by the thermal insulating effect of the lug electrical insulating sleeve. Since the terminal stud is not particularly hot, I think the heat comes from the crimp wire-to-lug, rather than bolted connection lug-to terminal.

Emissivity set to 0.95 throughout the image.

What is your opinion of the severity? What can we say about the reliability with continued monitoring?

Re:hot connection - inverter output breaker electricpete 9/28/2004
Whoops. Correction.
2 - The upper left connection (on top of bottom left breaker) is 27.7C

Is there any edit function available after I screw up? (it happens so rarely LOL).

Re:hot connection - inverter output breaker pktsgt 9/29/2004
Pete,