Message Board Thread - "Home Inspections"

Back to Threads | Back to Forums

TitleByPosted On
Home Inspections Atlantic-Thermal 5/12/2005
I am new to the home inspection bussiness. I am trying to get information as to be able to Inspect homes and qualify costumers for the govt' incetive. (one tonne challenge). To date the gov't does not offer infrared as a way to inspect homes for this program. If someone could point me in the right direction, as to whom I could call or email, I would be very greatful. Please contact me if you are interested in helping me get this thing going. By the way This refers to the canadian thermographers.
Thanks
Kevin
Atlantic-Thermal Infrared Solutions

Email: atlanticthermal@nb.aibn.com
Phone 506-624-9592
fax: 506-624-9596

Re:Home Inspections Bald Eagle 9/26/2005
Kevin,
If your doing a home inspection, thermography may not be appropriate to be included. You should stay within the SOP's of the association you belong to such as American Society of Home Inspectors. There link is ASHI.org. Thermography should be an additional service issue that is covered by an outside agreement. Always think in terms of standards of service and if you do get in a legal bind, you'll have something to defend. IF you go outside of the SOP, no lawyer can defend you. My two pence...

Re:Home Inspections what? 12/24/2005
You will probably need to invest in a blower door. The government needs to quantify the savings in order to offer incentives. IR is a great tool to use in conjunction with a blower door, as the air leakage is more apparent when the building is being depressurized/ pressurized. Much faster than using a smoke bottle.

The included image shows a recessed light fixture leaking air around it. The ambient indoor temp was about 70°, and the outdoor temp was about 71°, no wind. Without depressurization, this image would have been impossible.

Re:Home Inspections refresh 1/8/2006