Message Board Thread - "Need help with High Voltage."

Back to Threads | Back to Forums

TitleByPosted On
Need help with High Voltage. dcnewt2 1/22/2004
I am fairly new to the IR industry and I am very comfortable with doing scans on commercial and industrial electrial installations. My company is starting to get inquiries about doing scans on High Voltage distribution systems and lines. High Voltage equipment and terminolgy are new to me, so I am hoping that someone can point me in the right direction. If anyone knows of good reference materials or has a good system in place for High Voltage, I would really appreciate some help.

David Newton
Anchorage,Ak

Re:Need help with High Voltage. Doctir bob 1/22/2004
The ITC courses discuss electrical applications, so that is a good place to start. You should definitely be accompanied by a qualified individual prior to entering a secure area such as a substation or switchyard. They will know the terminology. Another resource is electrical equipment manufacturers' websites. They often have useful information about their equipment and what it does. For example, here is a link that gives distribution equipment in a diagrammatic format: http://www.hubbellpowersystems.com/powertest/distribution/dp_poster/product_map.htm

Re:Need help with High Voltage. dcnewt2 1/22/2004
I forgot to mention that I am a licenced electrician, and I have been through ITC Level I and will be attending level II in March. Thanks for the web site- That is the kind of help I was looking for- and also maybe some samples of reports and/or pictures so that I can help our sales dept put together a presentation.

Thanks Again
David

Re:Need help with High Voltage. Brad 2/4/2004