Message Board Thread - "Using Camera in High Magnetic Field Area"

Back to Threads | Back to Forums

TitleByPosted On
Using Camera in High Magnetic Field Area Wade 10/19/2005
Anyone ever heard of damaging an Infrared Camera while subjecting it to a high magnetic field area. Location would be a plant where they bring in 3 phase AC power, and then convert it to DC for their process. Personal are subjected to this field when standing near the very large rectifier banks.

Thanks

Re:Using Camera in High Magnetic Field Area IRJay 10/19/2005
I have used Pm570 up to P60 in large DC convertor atmosphere along with ac and dc drive rooms with absolutely no problem. The cameras are shielded internally as is other electronic instruments you may use in these areas so you should not have a problem.

Re:Using Camera in High Magnetic Field Area Hal 10/20/2005
A number of years ago as a Plant Metallurgical Engineer I tested and then purchased an Agema IR camera to conduct daily infrared inspections in a zinc electrolytic cell-house. The magnetic fields were quite strong on the cell-house floor and around the AC/DC electrical components. The standard eyepiece display, which is still used on most IR cameras, would distort. To solve this problem a 4" color LCD display was need to view in this enviorment.
Good Luck
Hal Smith
C&I Inspections
www.4infrared.com

Re:Using Camera in High Magnetic Field Area jimmyc 10/25/2005
I work in an area with strong magnetic fields as well. I have noticed that occasionally I have trouble connecting with the bluetooth comment feature. It has been suggested that the magnetic fields may have some bearing on this. Personally I feel that the antenna was at fault. Anyone have similiar difficulties associated with a high magnetic field and bluetooth technology

Re:Using Camera in High Magnetic Field Area Pete 11/8/2005