Message Board Thread - "160x120 vs. 320x240 for moisture intrusion"

Back to Threads | Back to Forums

TitleByPosted On
160x120 vs. 320x240 for moisture intrusion moldsol 9/21/2006
Does anyone have an opinion on the neccessity of a higher resolution camera for building science applications; specific to moisture intrusion. Thanks in advance for your comments.

Re:160x120 vs. 320x240 for moisture intrusion JNTOOLS 9/27/2006
I have been using an E-65 for about 2 years now and it works very well for detecting moisture. With prices on cameras dropping you can’t go wrong with a higher resolution camera (EX320). But to answer your question it is not absolutely necessary. Here in Maryland I always verify any found anomalies with a non-penetrating moisture meter, especially in the winter time. I have seen strange insulation deficiencies in the winter that looked a lot like moisture. Also most building science thermographers look for the traditional cool spot anomalies that can indicate moisture. I have seen issues where the moisture showed up hot due to steam infiltration. A higher resolution camera would have been nice for this situation (more detail). The picture below shows what appears to be a summer time insulation deficiency, in fact it is steam entering from just above the rim joist and condensation on the inside of the gypsum below grade, the humidity inside the wall was so high it never had time to evaporate, thus never showed the cool anomaly. I would have like the EX320 for this situation.

J. Nachman
Building Science Thermographer
Longwave Inspection

Re:160x120 vs. 320x240 for moisture intrusion Avalon Inspection 9/28/2006
J.,
What is the source of this steam in the walls?

Re:160x120 vs. 320x240 for moisture intrusion JNTOOLS 9/29/2006
You may click or cut and paste the following link to open a PDF file that will show how the steam migrated into the residence.

http://www.longwaveis.com/PDF%20Files/Pad%20reconstruction.pdf