Message Board Thread - "Where to begin......."

Back to Threads | Back to Forums

TitleByPosted On
Where to begin....... R. Misener 1/2/2007
I am new to the thermography industry. The company I work for has purchased an EX320 camera. I have taken the Level 1 course and am ready to step into the thermography world. We are going to start doing infrared home inspections at first, eventually going into industrial applications. Our demographic area is Eastern Canada. Our first major hirdle is going to be tapping into a virtually untouched market. There are very very few thermographers in our area, almost none in the residential field. Most home energy efficiency companies in the area use a blower door, not an IR camera. How does one convince customers that IR is the way to go when nobody really knows what IR is in our area? We are also having difficulty determining a cost for an IR inspection. I have seen many comments in previous posts on this issue, but lets face it, Eastern Canadians are more hesitant to pay "big bucks" for a newly offered service. Not to mention our area is mainly rural and small towns. Companies using the blower doors seem to ballpark around the $150 range for an inspection. I guess in general we're just spinning in circles looking for the right direction. Any and all comments are welcomed, just looking for a little guidance from all you experts out there. Thanks in advance.

Re:Where to begin....... Gary Orlove 1/3/2007
Here is some data from a February 2006 survey of United States thermographers. All prices in USD.

Hope it provides some guidance.

Gary Orlove
Infrared Training Center

Re:Where to begin....... Avalon Inspection 1/5/2007
I assume Gary's rates are in US dollars so don't forget to convert to Canadian dollars. Today $1.00 US equals $1.1934 CAN. So, for residential inspections the average hourly rate would be $158.72 CAN and the average daily rate would be $1,144.47.

Re: Where to begin.......you already have! Greg SITS 1/5/2007