Message Board Thread - "Seeking critiques of two heatloss business models"

Back to Threads | Back to Forums

TitleByPosted On
Seeking critiques of two heatloss business models bobt 4/13/2007
I am a licensed contractor in central Massachusetts,considering starting a business with IR technology. I am fairly knowledgable about building science, and figure that with good training I could handle thermography well enough. What is not clear to me is whether I could find sufficient demand for a profitable business. I have two models in mind: 1) a stand-alone heatloss survey service, without remediation, and 2) the same, but with remediation of the low-hanging heatloss fruit. I would prefer the first, but I notice most IR folks are doing roofs or water damage or electrical surveys, and few seem to simply survey and report on heatloss. Also, few seem to survey and weatherize.

I would very much appreciate hearing from anyone who has tried and succeeded, or tried and failed, at either of those models. They seem a good service to provide, but I don't know if the market can be reached in this fashion. Thanks and regards...

Re:Seeking critiques of two heatloss business models JNTOOLS 4/13/2007
Bob, there are several ways of looking at it. If you are advertising or selling yourself as a contractor who uses a thermal imager to find areas of heat loss/gain etc., some (I am being kind when I say some) clients will look at your thermography as a marketing tool or a way to boost up the cost of the fix. There are contractors that use thermal imaging at no cost to the client to help locate the source of a known problem; most clients find this acceptable. If you start pointing out other issues that the client is not aware of, chalking up thousands of dollars of repairs that you are going to do, they might just throw you out of there home/building = (Conflict of Interest).