Message Board Thread - "Rebar in Concrete"

Back to Threads | Back to Forums

TitleByPosted On
Rebar in Concrete jwstocker 8/5/2007
Greetings I am rather new to infrared tech. I currently manage a construction materials test lab in Eastern Ohio. I work with various materials such as soils, concrete, asphalt, aggregates. Many times in my line of work, when the "you know what" hits the fan with concrete construction I am required to go out and drill a core from a bridge deck, pier, roadway, tunnel, etc. Many times it is important to not drill into the rebar or post tentioning cables in the structure. My question is how deep can an infrared camera "see" rebar heat signatures into a concrete structure. Many times my glorified stud finder is wrong. I haven't needed to be dead sure "yet" but the day is coming. Any help would be appreciated.

Jace Stocker
AGGCON Testing

Re:Rebar in Concrete Intertec 8/7/2007
Your company might want to invest in GPR (Ground Penetrating Radar It is designed just for finding rebar and PT cables. GSSI and Sensors & Software both design good systems.

Re:Rebar in Concrete jvoitl 8/7/2007
I wouldn't attempt to use thermography in this application. The rebar and concrete will be the same temperatue so there will be no way for the camera to see the rebar, even if it is only just barely beneath the surface. By using an AC arc welder and coiling the leads on top of the concrete a current can be induced in the rebar creating heat that will eventually show up on the surface of the concrete. However this requires two things. One that the magnetic field from the welding leads reach deep enough into the concrete to induce a current into all the rebar, and two that the rebars are all touching other rebars near the ends to make completed electrical circuits through their entire length. These are two assumtions that are sure to get you in trouble.

Re:Rebar in Concrete EXO-Sight Infrared 8/15/2007