Message Board Thread - "need help deciding on th right camera"

Back to Threads | Back to Forums

TitleByPosted On
need help deciding on th right camera Gendron 8/8/2007
I am new to the thermography business and i am looking to purchase a the B-Cam due to the fact that it is much less expensive than other models. Would this be a good purchase for home inspections or should I look to get a better model.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Re:need help deciding on th right camera IRJay 8/9/2007
Buy the best camera you can afford! With that in mind you are just starting out in the business and not sure what your hard earned money will actually get. I suggest renting a camera or having the sales reps demo the cameras for you. This will allow to you to make a more informed decision on usage. The other factors should include resolution of the image, measurement criteria like how hot will need to be measured. Number of images saved in a working period. Ease of use. Can training be part of the purchase (please plan on being trained).
Attend the Inframation conference and get some user input or the clinic on introduction to thermography.
Many things to consider. Good luck!!

Re:need help deciding on th right camera john@FLIR 8/9/2007
IRJay wrote:
best camera you can afford! With that in mind you are just starting out in the business and not sure what your hard earned money will actually get. I suggest renting a camera or having the sales reps demo the cameras for you. This will allow to you to make a more informed decision on usage. The other factors should include resolution of the image, measurement criteria like how hot will need to be measured. Number of images saved in a working period. Ease of use. Can training be part of the purchase (please plan on being trained).
Attend the Inframation conference and get some user input or the clinic on introduction to thermography.
Many things to consider. Good luck!!