Message Board Thread - "Moisture detection in drywall/sheetrock"

Back to Threads | Back to Forums

TitleByPosted On
Moisture detection in drywall/sheetrock JTIR 8/10/2007
Recently, I observed what appeared to be a water stain at the joint between the ceiling and a wall separating the bedroom from a bathroom.

Upon shooting the spot with the BCAM, I was suprised to see the suspect areas surface warmer than the surrounding area. Normally, my shots have shown cooler areas.

Is the reason for this that moisture is condensing in this area, thus giving off higher temperatures at the surface, as opposed to evaporating moisture conditions?

What variables do I need to consider? I am relatively new to IR, and have only done the basic course so I am using the BCAM solely at this time as a tool to help me better understand and troubleshoot these conditions.

As it turns out, upon inspecting the wash basin located on the opposite side of the wall in question, I discovered an ABS vent pipe riser through the wall and exiting the roof. My supposition was/is that a leaking roof jack is to blame and rain water is most likely riding down the ABS pipe and depositing itself in this location.

Some feedback on my logic here is much appreciated.

JT

Re:Moisture detection in drywall/sheetrock Derby 8/13/2007
JTIR wrote:
y, I observed what appeared to be a water stain at the joint between the ceiling and a wall separating the bedroom from a bathroom.

Upon shooting the spot with the BCAM, I was suprised to see the suspect areas surface warmer than the surrounding area. Normally, my shots have shown cooler areas.

Is the reason for this that moisture is condensing in this area, thus giving off higher temperatures at the surface, as opposed to evaporating moisture conditions?