Message Board Thread - "Measuring the rate of heat loss through glass/tint film"

Back to Threads | Back to Forums

TitleByPosted On
Measuring the rate of heat loss through glass/tint film Tabasco 5/6/2008
Hello I am new to thermography and I have a T400.

I could use some help measuring heat convection and retention through double pane glass with and with out window tinting film.

1) Is there a formula out there that shows heat transfer through glass (single or double pane)?

2) Would employing "black tape" to both exterior and interior windows with/without tinting film on the same window give me the retention and heat loss analysis I am looking for?

Your ideas and insights would be greatly accepted.
Thank you,
David from Central Oregon

Re:Measuring the rate of heat loss through glass/tint film Doctir bob 5/6/2008
The standard technique is to measure the steady state heat flow through the "air film" at the interior window surface. One needs to know the interior window surface emissivity, window interior surface temperature, interior air temperature and interior reflected apparent temperature. Heat transfer by radiation (about 2/3 the total for vertical surface high emissivity materials) and convection (about 1/3 the total for interior vertical surface air films) comprise the heat flow through the air film. In steady state all the heat that flows through the air film, flows through the window. The R-Value can also be readily calculated, knowing the exterior air temperature.

A major caveat is the requirement for steady state heat flow conditions. This is a biggie as rarely is a window or wall in such a state in the real world.