Message Board Thread - "Odd settings required to reach actual temps"

Back to Threads | Back to Forums

TitleByPosted On
Odd settings required to reach actual temps RobertC 2/9/2009
I shot a pump and got a max temp of 141F with a flange temp of 120 or so.

I used the defaults 1.0 emissivity and a background of 68.

Later, I went down with a contact thermocouple and actual flange temp is 96F.

Reshot and got the same values, SO I reset E to .91 and background to the painted concrete temp of 58F.

My 96F point went to an apparent 125F

So I got wqeird and just entered random numbers.

When I ended up at 277 for background, my pump flange was close to actual.

Why?

This is with a Fluke TI55FT, and I am brand new at this, but my LevelII couldn't make much sense of it either.

Re:Odd settings required to reach actual temps InDemand Inc. 2/10/2009
Do you have any pics?

Re:Odd settings required to reach actual temps TDLIR 2/10/2009
Robert,
from your post, it clearly shows that proper training (Level 2 for temp meas.) is much needed.

There are many reasons why you get what you get with IR temps. Level 2 training will explain all of these variables and you will get a better understanding. Understanding ir temps and also understanding contact temps is important.

I cannot speak for the ability of your level 2 to understand temp accuracy with ir and contact thermometers. But proper training will answer many of your questions.

just my thoughts.

Re:Odd settings required to reach actual temps Doctir bob 2/12/2009
There are several reasons an IR camera reading will disagree witht a contact thermocouple reading. I start from the most likely to the least likely, assuming the thermographer understands how to measure temperature with his/her IR camera: