Message Board Thread - "IR imaging of PCAs"

Back to Threads | Back to Forums

TitleByPosted On
IR imaging of PCAs AMP 4/6/2004
We have recently purchased an IR camera to use for thermal imaging of our products and PCAs during the development cycle in order to understand the hot spots and to aid in making product improvements. I have done some imaging of a couple PCAs during operation, and we have used the results to focus in on what appear to be the hot spots. Since I am new to IR and thermal imaging, I have been doing a lot of research to understand this technology and what I need to consider when taking and analyzing the images. Of course, everything I read states that having correct emissivity values is critical. With the imaging I have done, I have assumed a constant emissivity across the PCA of 0.98, but I do not think that is correct to assume. Most components are colored a flat black, of course, so they will have high emissivity. I did an experiment where I placed a PCA in a temperature chamber, raised the temperature and let the PCA stabilize, then took an image of it. From knowing the temperature, I calculated the emissivity values of several parts; they all are around 0.95. My question is, is anyone else using IR for a similar purpose, and if so, what do you do about emissivity values? Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you.

Re:IR imaging of PCAs Thermoimagen 4/9/2004
hi ..

sorry, what is a "PCA" ?..

Re:IR imaging of PCAs JKEngineer 4/11/2004
Ditto on "what is a PCA?"

Also - using an oven to heat the device and then measure its emissivity will give ambiguous results unless the surface measured is removed from the oven's influence. If you image the device while still in the oven, the background temperature and the object temperature are essentially the same and you cannot derive the emissivity.
Jack
Jack M. Kleinfeld, P.E.
Kleinfeld Technical Services, Inc.
Infrared Thermography, Finite Element Analysis, Process Engineering

4011 Hillman Ave