Message Board Thread - "Transformer abnormality or anomoly?"

Back to Threads | Back to Forums

TitleByPosted On
Transformer abnormality or anomoly? Sharonna 10/1/2009
I have a Westinghouse (installed mid 80's) 75 kVA transformer (Primary 480 Y120) that exists in a high ambient temperature area (Phoenix AZ 114+ in the summer) and it's location is only cooled by (high humidity) air wash systems during the summer months. I've been Infrared-ing 200+ county buildings for five years now and I have never seen a transformer coil look quite like this, I would have possibly passed it off as a reflection off the bolt if it did not have that halo going around the B phase coil at the tap level. The temperatures are not alarming, however, this transformer feeds a panel that operates a high security detention facility i.e., controls, etc. I thought I would throw it out there for feedback. I have very few buildings with these air wash systems, so shooting with the humidity levels you see here is not common for me and I wondered if this could be a contributing factor. I threw in an IR of C phase coil of the same transformer which is typically what I see several hundred times a year. The visual inspection looked good B - phase looked better than A or C at the tap connections. FYI...the amp draws were primary side A - 12.7, B - 11.5, C - 8.6 and the secondary side A - 24.0, B - 31.8, and C - 15.1 with the Neutral at 11.8 amps. There are alot of electronic relay cabinets in the same electric room as well as wireless listening devices throughout this location and was 'him-hawing' around about possible transmission interference? Usually the camera acts weird when I'm shooting if that's an issue, and it did not when this was shot. Please help with ideas or thoughts because if this Xfrmr went down after I shot this, I might end up wearing pink underwear myself!?#@! Signed: "I never saw something like this in my 5 years of infrared imaging here I guess that's what keeps my job so interesti