Message Board Thread - "Window & Door Seal Question"

Back to Threads | Back to Forums

TitleByPosted On
Window & Door Seal Question msm 1/27/2010
I'm new to infrared thermography and have done a half a dozen inspections. I'm seeing a pattern that each of my inspections show that the windows and doors are leaking air -- especially in the corners. All the houses I've scanned are less than 10 years old and the Windows are high quality Andersen windows. Please look at this image and let me know how you would diagnose ... I'm starting to think that I'm missing something here and all these windows/doors can't be leaking??

Re:Window & Door Seal Question Raphael ITC Eurasia 1/27/2010
Hi
Most of the time, the problem does not come from the manufactured product, but from how it is installed!
Air leaks are better visualized with a blower door, a system that pressurizes / depressurizes the building.

Re:Window & Door Seal Question Brad Carr 1/27/2010
This is what air infiltration looks like using a blower door. Are you trying to check for air infiltration? It shouldn't be too hard to find a used blower door to place the home under negative pressure. You could try turning on the bathroom fans, rangehood and dryer to depressurize the home.The results won't be as good . I would suggest a IR building sciences course. Scott Woods is a great ITC instructor . Not sure if He's still teaching.

Re:Window & Door Seal Question mobilenuke 1/27/2010
Keep in mind that thresholds are usually metal
and can have a "cooler" look if the outside temp is lower than inside. Same goes for window frames (even vinyl).
Don't confuse heat transference with air infiltration.

Re:Window & Door Seal Question GRG Ottawa 2/9/2010