Message Board Thread - "infrared thermometer transparent material"

Back to Threads | Back to Forums

TitleByPosted On
infrared thermometer transparent material hanoverrov 2/25/2010
Hello I am a student at Hanover High School and are attending a mate rov competition soon and I was wondering if there are any transparent materials that I could use to measure temperature underwater with the infrared thermometer?

Re:infrared thermometer transparent material Raphael ITC Eurasia 2/25/2010
hanoverrov wrote:
am a student at Hanover High School and are attending a mate rov competition soon and I was wondering if there are any transparent materials that I could use to measure temperature underwater with the infrared thermometer?
Unfortunately, water is opaque for infrared equipment. You cannot do any underwater measurement with such a device.

Re:infrared thermometer transparent material hanoverrov 2/26/2010
Raphael ITC Eurasia wrote:
Unfortunately, water is opaque for infrared equipment. You cannot do any underwater measurement with such a device.
all we are trying to do is find the difference of the temperature from the water, not the actual temperature. is this possible?

Re:infrared thermometer transparent material JKEngineer 2/27/2010
If the object you want to measure is under water, then you cannot use IR to measure its temperature. The water will absorb all the IR radiation that the object emits, so that the IR sensor will not see it. Think of trying to see something in the bottom of a bowl of pea soup.

What you could consider, depending on what the object is, is to use thermocouples or similar contact temperature sensors.