Message Board Thread - "Hot Porcelain on a Cutout"

Back to Threads | Back to Forums

TitleByPosted On
Hot Porcelain on a Cutout Ricepatties 11/24/2010
I am a newbie to the use of the FLIR camera and I was needing some advice on an occurance taken with the FLIR camera. I have attached a photo of what was taken. The photo shows the procelain of cutout gate showing 10 degrees in farenheit hotter than the other two cutout gates. Pictures from a variety of different angles show similiar results. The emissivity setting for the camera was set at .95. The picture was taken directly after a rain (the clouds had still blocked out the sun so there was no sunshine at all anywhere on the pole or pole eqipment). I took this picture out of curosity because it seems that a few days after a rain we will start having pole fires and cutout failures. The camera used is a flir I50 which if im not mistaken has an aspect ratio of 300:1 while the image taken was about 35-40 ft away. I have noticed other problems in the pictures such as the bottom buttons on 2 of the three arrestors where showing heat. My main concern is after a rain--- is this an indication of a failing cutout? My line of thinking is that the procelain will crack after time (due to changing temperature) then during a rain and after a rain water seeps into the cracks and causes arcing within the cutout and this producing heat as seen in the picture. Or is my line of thinking incorrect?

Re:Hot Porcelain on a Cutout Ricepatties 11/24/2010
And before I forget the cutouts serve a switched capacitor bank which was online at the time the picture was taken.

Re:Hot Porcelain on a Cutout TDLIR 11/24/2010
If you concluded that it is not reflection and not solar loading then you should confirm this finding with Airborne Ultrasound to see if it Tracking.

Re:Hot Porcelain on a Cutout Hotspot 1/10/2011
TDLIR wrote: